Lindauer Segler-Club Wins DSBL Berlin Finale / Norddeutscher Regatta Verein Crowned 2017 German Champions

The 2017 Deutsche Segel-Bundesliga championship (DSBL) was characterized by roller-coaster scorelines by all clubs and the resulting exciting finale in Berlin. Winning the Berlin event was the Lindauer Segler-Club with mostly top three scores to win by a comfortable margin of 8 points, with a total of 36 points for 15 races. A good effort was put on by Chiemsee YC, winning a tie-breaker on 44 points each over Dusseldorf YC. Then, rounding out the top five were Norddeutscher Regatta Verein in fourth place with 45 points and Wassersport Verein Hemelingen with 48 points. As a result, the DSBL series experienced a surprising outcome. By virtue of finishing fourth in Berlin, Norddeutscher Regatta Verein won the 2017 edition of the German J/70 Sailing League. The six-regatta series (Prien, Lindau, Kiel, Travemunde, Glucksburg, Berlin) was a story of improvement for the NRV team. Their regatta tallies of 10-2-1-9-2-4 were enough to be crowned German DSBL champions with a total of 28 points. After going into the final regatta with a comfortable lead, Deutscher Touring YC notched a 16th place in the last regatta, dropping them into second overall with 36 points. After winning the first regatta in Prien, Segel-und Motorboot Club Uberlingen was in second place for the season going into the finale. However, adding a 13th to their tally dropped them to third overall for the season with 39 points total. After the “open” DSBL championship was completed on Saturday, the youth league held their finale on the same boats and same venue on Sunday. The “youth league” was comprised of five regattas, 143 races, 32 competitors, 66 races, 276 nm of races sailed, with the highest recorded speed of 17.5 knots. Taking 2017 league honors was Berliner YC, followed by Bayerischer YC in second place and Munchner YC in third to round out the podium. For more German J/70 Sailing League information, visit